Forums Cultivating Truffles Soil Analysis Troubleshooting Advice

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      Ruth Bunbury
      Participant
        Up
        Down
        ::

I am in desperate need of advice. The academic bodies in Ontario, while they have performing the analysis for me, refuse to give advice and recommendations based on the findings because they do not have experience with the crop: Tuber aestivum syn. uncinatum (Burgundy Truffles). Even though I have supplied them with peer reviewed research studies for comparison. Only suggesting saying that: “The Missouri document are in units of % (calcium, phosphorus, magnesium and potassium), these can be roughly converted to mg/L (units used on our report) by multiplying them be 10,000.” It is ridiculous. I am also in a horrible time crunch due to unfortunate family circumstances. I am hopeful that someone will be able to assist me in determining the best way forward.

I am a new producer, taking over 40 acres of farm land from my father as he has not been engaged in the practice for some time (we are starting with 5 acres). The farm itself is is in Eastern Ontario, Canada. I worked my family’s farm during my childhood and early adulthood, but did not develop an expertise in soil ecology…definitely turning out to be my achilles heel.