Forums Cultivating Truffles Soil Ph Problems

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      Ruth Bunbury
      Participant

Hello Everyone,

I am a new producer coming back to farming after many years; I am taking over 40 acres of farm land from my father as he has not been engaged in the practice for some time. The farm itself is located in Eastern Ontario, Canada. I worked my family’s farm during my childhood and early adulthood, but did not develop an expertise in soil ecology and would greatly appreciate your and NATGA’s guidance as both local and provincial soil experts have not been able to assist me.

The crop I am planting this coming fall is relatively new to Ontario and Canada, Tuber aestivum syn. uncinatum (Burgundy Truffles) and requires specific soil conditions. Soil conditions, that when tested last year, proved agreeable, however now (tested in late spring) are not favourable to production, which is very alarming considering the cost of inoculated seedlings. I have ordered 600 truffle inoculated Hazelnut trees for fall planting. I am not living on the farm currently as my family and I are slowly transitioning, I believe that my father, who is kind, sweet and the hardest working man I know, but also slowly succumbing to Alzheimer’s, submitted soil from the wrong field for testing (a field that is not available for planting).

I am not sure how to correct the situation as the field, 5 acres, 3 of which will be planted (the bottom area is comprised of Moscow clay and is unsuitable), was recently planted with a cover crop of oats/barley mid May. The analysis came back this past week.