Tagged: ,

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Laura Carvery
      Participant

I am just starting out and want to be able to, eventually, grow black winter truffles for a small local market. I don’t want to purchase pre-inoculated trees as I would prefer to complete the entire process myself, from seed to tree and from truffle spore to truffle. Are there any recommendations for reputable fresh black winter truffle suppliers that ship to/within Canada?  Thank you for any feedback.

Fabrice Caporal
        Keymaster
          Up
          Down
          ::

In my humble opinion you can probably purchase truffles from any distributor as long as you make sure that they are ripe and of the right species. Once you receive your truffles, smell and color should tell you about the ripeness.  Then you should take a piece of each truffle and have it DNA tested as well as spore checked by a speciality lab to confirm the species, especially if you are planning to work with black truffles.

For the lab I have been working with Inga Meadows of North Carolina State University, but there are other labs able to do this work.

Nyall Cook
          Participant
            Up
            Down

Hey Laura, I am in the process of starting a Truffière in Central New Jersey and would also like to complete the process from “soup to nuts” in house.

I was looking around for a solution to the problem your raising and I was thinking about reaching out to this Spanish company – Micologia Forestal & Aplicada – https://micofora.com/en/. However after reading this forum I may instead search for someone more local to test truffle supplies from different sources.

Good luck to all of our neighbors up north!

Alana McGee
            Participant
              Up
              Down